Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero

Isaiah Dunn Saves The Day

Isaiah Dunn Saves The Day

Starting middle school is no joke! Isaiah Dunn has more to say in the sequel to the award-winning novel Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero. Friendship, community, and a love of words blend in this coming-of-age tale. Things are looking up for super kid Isaiah Dunn. He and his little sister, Charlie, are getting used to staying with Miz Rita, and Mama's feeling better. Isaiah's poetry business with Angel is taking off, and his best friend, Sneaky, always has a new hustle. Plus, Isaiah has his dad's journals for a story or if he needs advice.... Like maybe now, because starting middle school is hard. Especially when his mentee Kobe won't stop making trouble. Isaiah knows something is up, but to get to the bottom of Kobe's secret, he'll have to rely on every hero he knows--including himself! Discover the heartfelt and humorous sequel to the award-winning novel Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Kelly J. Baptist
Publisher : Crown Books for Young Readers
Release : 2022-08-02
Total Pages : 193 Pages
ISBN : 9780593429235


The Swag Is In The Socks

The Swag Is In The Socks

Xavier Moon is stepping out of the shadows when his great-uncle gives him some outlandish socks and some even stranger requests. A story about heart, confidence, and standing on your own two feet that is perfect for fans of The Season of Styx Malone and The Parker Inheritance. "An excellent read-alike to Jacqueline Woodson’s Harbor Me or Janae Marks’ From the Desk of Zoe Washington.” –Booklist, Starred Review "A warm but authentic picture of a middle schooler figuring out who he is and who he wants to be." –The Bulletin Xavier Moon is not one to steal the show. He’s perfectly content to play video games and sit at his bedroom window watching the neighborhood talk outside. But for Xavier’s twelfth birthday, he receives a pair of funky socks and a challenge from his great-uncle, Frankie Bell, saying it’s time to swag out and speak up. First on the list: get into the legendary Scepter League. Xavier’s grandfather, great-uncle, and father were all invited to join the elite boys’ after-school club that admits only the most suave and confident young men. Xavier has never had the courage to apply before, but his wild socks are getting him some big attention, so maybe it’s time to come out of the shadows and follow in his family's footsteps. Or maybe Xavier will march down a new path altogether.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Kelly J. Baptist
Publisher : Crown Books for Young Readers
Release : 2021-11-02
Total Pages : 241 Pages
ISBN : 9780593380888


The Electric Slide And Kai

The Electric Slide And Kai

Everyone in the Donovan family can dance--and has a dance nickname--except Kai, but his family helps him practice his moves to prepare for his aunt's wedding reception.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Kelly Baptist
Publisher : Lee & Low Books
Release : 2021
Total Pages : 40 Pages
ISBN : 1643790528


One Last Shot

One Last Shot

The beloved author of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day and Posted returns with a humorous and heartwarming story of family, friendship, and miniature golf. For as long as he can remember, Malcolm has never felt like he was good enough. Not for his parents, who have always seemed at odds with each other, with Malcolm caught in between. And especially not for his dad, whose competitive drive and love for sports Malcolm has never shared. That is, until Malcolm discovers miniature golf, the one sport he actually enjoys. Maybe it’s the way in which every hole is a puzzle to be solved. Or the whimsy of the windmills and waterfalls that decorate the course. Or maybe it’s the slushies at the snack bar. But whatever the reason, something about mini golf just clicks for Malcolm. And best of all, it’s a sport his dad can’t possibly obsess over. Or so Malcolm thinks. Soon he is signed up for lessons and entered in tournaments. And yet, even as he becomes a better golfer and finds unexpected friends at the local course, be wonders if he might not always be a disappointment. But as the final match of the year draws closer, the tension between Malcolm’s parents reaches a breaking point, and it’s up to him to put the puzzle of his family back together again.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : John David Anderson
Publisher : HarperCollins
Release : 2020-05-05
Total Pages : 352 Pages
ISBN : 9780062643940


Ikenga

Ikenga

Nnedi Okorafor's acclaimed first novel for middle grade readers introduces a boy who can access super powers with the help of the magical Ikenga. Nnamdi's father was a good chief of police, perhaps the best Kalaria had ever had. He was determined to root out the criminals that had invaded the town. But then he was murdered, and most people believed the Chief of Chiefs, most powerful of the criminals, was responsible. Nnamdi has vowed to avenge his father, but he wonders what a twelve-year-old boy can do. Until a mysterious nighttime meeting, the gift of a magical object that enables super powers, and a charge to use those powers for good changes his life forever. How can he fulfill his mission? How will he learn to control his newfound powers? Award-winning Nnedi Okorafor, acclaimed for her Akata novels, introduces a new and engaging hero in her first novel for middle grade readers set against a richly textured background of contemporary Nigeria.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Nnedi Okorafor
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2020-08-18
Total Pages : 240 Pages
ISBN : 9780593113547


The Girl Who Could Silence The Wind

The Girl Who Could Silence The Wind

Worn down by the constant petitions of the villagers who think she has special powers, sixteen-year-old Sonia leaves behind her shawl covered with milagros and her mountain home and sets out to live a life of her own choosing in the capital city.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Meg Medina
Publisher : Candlewick Press
Release : 2012
Total Pages : 244 Pages
ISBN : 9780763646028


I Have A Superpower

I Have A Superpower

Four-time NBA champion and superstar Stephen Curry makes a splash with his picture book debut inspiring young readers to unlock their very own superpower. "A positive boost from a strong role model." —Kirkus "With accessible advice honoring commitment to craft and fortitude, this is a sporty and strong addition to growth-mindset and social-emotional-learning conversations." —Booklist Stephen Curry’s journey to the NBA wasn’t easy. Coaches and recruiters repeatedly told him he was too small to make it in the big leagues. But Stephen used their doubts to shape his ever-positive attitude and fuel his own underdog success story. Now, Curry pens an original story to inspire the next generation of go-getters and big dreamers. I Have a Superpower is the empowering story that teaches kids you don't have to be the strongest, fastest, or even tallest kid out on the court. So long as you have heart, any goal is achievable through hard work and determination—even without a cape!

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Stephen Curry
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2022-09-06
Total Pages : 21 Pages
ISBN : 9780593522202


Flying Lessons Other Stories

Flying Lessons Other Stories

Whether it is basketball dreams, family fiascos, first crushes, or new neighborhoods, this bold short story collection—written by some of the best children’s authors including Kwame Alexander, Meg Medina, Jacqueline Woodson, and many more and published in partnership with We Need Diverse Books—celebrates the uniqueness and universality in all of us. "Will resonate with any kid who's ever felt different—which is to say, every kid." —Time Great stories take flight in this adventurous middle-grade anthology crafted by ten of the most recognizable and diverse authors writing today. Newbery Medalist Kwame Alexander delivers a story in-verse about a boy who just might have magical powers; National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson spins a tale of friendship against all odds; and Meg Medina uses wet paint to color in one girl’s world with a short story that inspired her Newbery award-winner Merci Suárez Changes Gear. Plus, seven more bold voices that bring this collection to new heights with tales that challenge, inspire, and celebrate the unique talents within us all. AUTHORS INCLUDE: Kwame Alexander, Kelly J. Baptist, Soman Chainani, Matt de la Peña, Tim Federle, Grace Lin, Meg Medina, Walter Dean Myers, Tim Tingle, Jacqueline Woodson “There’s plenty of magic in this collection to go around.” —Booklist, Starred “A natural for middle school classrooms and libraries.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred “Inclusive, authentic, and eminently readable.” —School Library Journal, Starred “Thought provoking and wide-ranging . . . should not be missed.”—Publishers Weekly, Starred “Read more books by these authors.” —The Bulletin, Starred

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Ellen Oh
Publisher : Crown Books for Young Readers
Release : 2017-01-03
Total Pages : 240 Pages
ISBN : 9781101934616


Johnny Long Legs

Johnny Long Legs

Even though he is the tallest member of the basketball team, a young boy finds he is far from being the best player.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Matt Christopher
Publisher : Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release : 2009-12-19
Total Pages : 133 Pages
ISBN : 9780316093927


Siha Tooskin Knows The Best Medicine

Siha Tooskin Knows The Best Medicine

Antibiotics, bandages, cough syrup, ointment, pills…modern medicine has so much to offer when we become ill. But is it actually modern? When Siha Tooskin—Paul Wahasaypa—finds himself not feeling at all well he learns that there are answers for him from the healing practices of his own people and from Western medicine. Pay a hospital visit to Paul as he learns more about where “modern medicine” really comes from and how we can all benefit from Indigenous and Western healers as Paul seeks the best medicine for his own wellness. The Siha Tooskin Knows series uses vivid narratives and dazzling illustrations in contemporary settings to share stories about an 11-year-old Nakota boy.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Charlene Bearhead
Publisher : Portage & Main Press
Release : 2020-05-26
Total Pages : 40 Pages
ISBN : 9781553798422